CLARION TWP. - In a surprising turn of events Feb. 17, Clarion-Limestone School Board President David Schirmer resigned from the board.

"I would like to thank the Clarion-Limestone community for the opportunity to teach here, to coach your children, to be your athletic director, to be your information technology director and I would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve you as a school board member," Schirmer said, reading from a prepared statement. "I have given you my best effort for 40-plus years but at this time I can no longer devote the time and effort necessary to do this job properly and effectively.

"I need to devote time to my family and I hope you can respect that. Therefore I am moving that the school board accept my resignation immediately. I have best wishes for all of you."

Schirmer was elected to a four-year term as the Limestone Township, Strattanville Borough representative in 2017.

Board Vice-President Nathaniel Parker will serve as board president. The board will have to elect a new vice-president at an upcoming meeting. The board is also currently looking to find a replacement for Schirmer's vacated seat.

After an uncomfortable silence, C-L board member David Eggleton addressed the assembled crowd in the C-L High School auditorium.

"We found this out 15 minutes ago or so and we are as shocked as you are," Eggleton said. "We're going to keep it together."

Eggleton continued, "I want to thank Dave (Schirmer) for all he did for this district."

According to Parker, the rest of the board tried to talk Schirmer out of resigning.

"We actually agreed on something, I think we should put that in the minutes," Parker quipped. "We were unified that we didn't think he should resign."

In other business, the board:

4Approved to enter into an independent contractor agreement with Mark Graf as a school police officer beginning March 22, 2021 through June 30, 2024. Graf is a retired Pennsylvania State Police trooper who previously served as a school police officer at A-C Valley.

4Approved the hiring of Rachel McConnell as the payroll/benefits manager in the central office at a pro-rated annual salary of $39,546 for the 2020-21 school year. McConnell's start date will be contingent upon the receipt of all required clearances and/or upon release by her current employer.

4Approved the following day-to-day substitutes pending receipt of all required legal documentation:

Jesse Mae Hughes, early childhood pre-k through fourth grade and special education pre-k through eighth grade.

Stephanie Donati, speech correction and reading specialist.

Jarrett Furnish, guest teacher.

4Approved the following supplemental contracts for the 2020-21 school year pending receipt of all required legal documentation:

Jason Craig, head softball coach, $3,121

Justin Ochs, assistant softball coach, $2,228

Todd Smith, head baseball coach, $3,121

Bill Smith, assistant baseball coach $2,228

Ron Wiser, head girls' track and field coach, $3,640

Elizabeth Gourley, assistant girls' track & field coach, $2,589

Shelby Johnson, head junior high volleyball coach $802

4 Approved Donald R. Reed as a bus driver for Rossey Busing for the 2020-21 school year and approved as a substitute driver for other bus contractors, pending receipt of all required legal documentation and subject to final review of all criminal records for all non-automatically disqualifying offenses.

4Approved purchase a reach-in refrigerator from Douglas Equipment with funds from the cafeteria fund in the amount of $1,623.

4Agreed to sign a COVID-19-authorized contract extension through June 30, 2022 with the Food Service Management Company.

4Approved the following volunteers for the 2020-21 school year pending receipt of all required legal documentation:

Kyle Schonbachler, boys' soccer

Donovan Montgomery, boys' soccer

Jarrett Esposito, boys' soccer

Colby Himes, baseball

Jarrett Furnish, school

4Accepted the following supplemental position resignations:

Stacy Wiles, junior class co-advisor

Alan Cumo, head boys' track and field coach

4Accepted the resignation for retirement purposes of Kathy Shaffer as an LPN/paraprofessional effective May 28, 2021.

4Approved the following for the vo-ag occupational advisory committee for the 2021 calendar year:

Dave Schirmer, former Ag teacher

Ron Ehrhart, Brookville Equipment

Gary Kahle, Ag teacher

Amanda Kanouff, Jefferson County Extension

Lon Seigworth, Unique Gas

Melvin Aaron, C-L High School Principal

Mindy Stoops, Ag teacher

Brooke Baughman, C-L student

Corbin Coulson, C-L student

4Approved the Riverview Intermediate Unit to use the high school classrooms for 2021 summer program services beginning July 5 and ending July 29.

4Approved to give administration the authorization to establish natural gas and electric pricing at their discretion.