Shook returns as Monroe Township chairman

By Brett Kriebel



Monroe Township supervisors held their state mandated annual reorganization meeting at 6 p.m. Jan. 6 with supervisor Walter D. Shook re-appointed as board chairman.

Supervisor Steven J. Ketner was re-appointed as vice-chairman of the board.

Robert J. Lewis was re-elected in the 2019 general election to serve as the third supervisor of the board.

The township currently has an auditor vacancy. Interested individuals are asked to submit a letter of interest to township secretary Amanda Anger, either by mail, email, or in person at the township building.

In other reorganization business, the board:

?Re-appointed Jim Morris as road master at $18 per hour.

?Re-appointed Amanda Anger as secretary and open records officer at $14.25 per hour.

?Re-appointed John Marshall of Shippenville as township legal counsel.

?Re-appointed Northwest Savings Bank as a depository for township funds.

?Set laborer wages at $16 per hour.

?Re-appointed Todd Fantaskey as sewage enforcement officer.

?Re-appointed Wesley Lander as emergency management coordinator.

?Appointed Roger Stahlman as vacancy board chairman.

?Set the mileage rate for use of private vehicles for township business at the IRS maximum of 57.5 cents per mile.

?Re-appointed Bureau Veritas as building permit officer.

?Agreed to conduct the monthly meetings at 6:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday of the month. When necessary, a second meeting will be held at 7:30 a.m. on the third Tuesday of the month. The exceptions to meeting dates are May 12, Nov. 4 and Dec. 8.

The township office's telephone number is 745-2819.