Racing season winding down

By Pam Baker

CLARION NEWS Racing correspondent

Well race fans things are starting to wind down quickly around our local speedways. Lernerville Speedway is the only track still holding races and after this weekend coming up, they will be finished for the 2020 season.

On Friday night, Track Champions were crowned at Lernerville Speedway as four fantastic feature events closed out the weekly Fab4 racing season to the delight of the crowd who turned out to witness the second Annual Chad McCutcheon Memorial. With extra money on the line in all divisions, the racing was hotly contested and over $5,000 was raised for the Juvenile Diabetes Research foundation with the help of donations organized by McCutcheon Enterprises in honor of the late Chad McCutcheon.

The first feature of the night saw Jeremiah Shingledecker bring his winless streak to an end in the Big Block Modified main event after taking the lead back from a determined Brian Swartzlander in the final laps of the feature. Finishing second was Swartzlander followed by Dave Murdick in third, Colton Walters with his best finish of the season finished fourth, and Steve Slater with a strong finish in fifth. Garrett Krummert etched his name in the record books as a champion for the first time in his career with the Big Block Modifieds.

Sye Lynch pursued race leader Michael Bauer into considerable lapped traffic and emerged with his first win of the season in 410 Sprint action. Finishing second was Bauer followed by AJ Flick in third. Fourth and fifth place finishes went to Brandon Matus and Matt Farnham. AJ Flick capped off a strong 2020 run which saw him dominate the second half of the season as he clinched his fourth Sprint Car championship.

Jared Miley and Michael Norris returned to the Action Track on Friday night and brought the fans out of their seats as the two former track champions traded the lead in the final two laps with Miley making his way back around Norris before the finish line in the Late Model main event. Finishing behind the duo of Miley and Norris was Ken Schaltenbrand followed by Will Thomas and Tommy Beck. Ken Schaltenbrand went back-to-back claiming consecutive title championships for the Late Model division.

The final race featured the Pro Stock feature and Joey Zambotti took the lead from early front runner Duke Davidson and never looked back enroute to his fourth win of the 2020 campaign at Lernerville. Finishing second was Corey McPherson with Jason Fosnaught third. Fourth went to Tyler Dietz with Brett McDonald in fifth. Tyler Dietz also picked up his second track championship title for the Pro Stock division at Lernerville Speedway.

Coming up this Thursday through Saturday (Oct. 15 through Oct. 17) at Lernerville Speedway will be the 12th Annual DIRTcar Round up Steel City Stampede will take place featuring the 410 Sprints, Late Models, Big Block Modifieds, and Pro Stocks along with RUSH Late Models, UMP E-Mods, Open Stock Cars, RUSH Sportsman Modifieds, Elite Modifieds, 305 Sprints, RUSH Wingless Sprint Cars, Super6 Late Models, 4-Cylinders, 270 Micro Sprints as well as the Enduro 100. Thursday night will be early tech inspection for all divisions along with hot laps for everyone as well. Friday night will feature heat races for all divisions along with a pit party after the heats are completed. Then on Saturday all B-Mains and Features will be run, starting at 4 p.m.

The fall leaves are beautiful this year, so if you have a chance get out this next weekend and attend the racing action at Lernerville Speedway and enjoy your trip there while viewing the leaves.