More local tracks getting up to speed for 2020

By Pam Baker

CLARION NEWS Racing correspondent

A beautiful weekend gave race fans an opportunity to get out and see some racing by the local drivers. Before I go into the race results, I would like to wish my husband, Lon Baker a very Happy Birthday this week. Thank goodness they only come around once a year, right?

I received word from Hummingbird Speedway that they were finally able to start their 55th season at the track located between Reynoldsville and DuBois.

The track runs on Saturday nights and the Pure Stocks kicked off the feature racing action with Shawn Hadden and Tim Steis leading the field to the opening green flag of their 15-lap feature race. Hadden jumped into the early lead of the feature, but opening night jitters for the drivers, saw the race plagued by cautions. On lap two, Bryce Swauger took the lead away from Hadden and survived the many cautions to pick up the feature win. Finishing second was Shawn Hadden over Casey Wolfe, Tim Steis and Wayne Garvey.

The Super Late Models hit the speedway next for their event and Damian Bidwell and Michael Lake led the field to the green for their 25-lap feature. Bidwell and Lake put on a show for the fans, swapping the lead back and forth before Bidwell was able to take the lead. Wyatt Scott took over the top position on lap nine and held the lead through lap twenty when he cut down a tire and brought out the caution flag. On the restart, Jon Lee inherited the lead and went the final five laps to pick up the win. Finishing second was Bidwell over Kenny Schaffer, Scott Alvertro and Jason Dobson.

In the Street Stock feature, Brandon Conner led the opening lap and up until lap seven when Bruce Hartzfeld took over the top position and held on to capture the checkers. Finishing second was Brandon Conner with Joe Stajnrajh in third. Fourth place went to Matt Sampson followed by Curtis Bish.

The Semi Late feature found Doug Surra taking the lead at the drop of the green flag. Several cautions flag and a red flag on lap four halted the action when Joey Malobicky flipped his car and landed on all four tires. There were other cars involved in the accident as well, but no one was injured. On the restart, Nick Erskine took the lead away from Surra and was able to extend his lead and captured his first win of the season. Surra finished second ahead of Bob McMillen, Eddie Conner and Bernie Whiteford, Jr.

The final event of the night found the four cylinders on the track. Shawn Hadden led the field the entire distance and captured the win and a trip to victory lane. Finishing second behind Hadden was Blake Joiner. Riding home in third was Travis Timko followed by Joe Anthony and David Smail.

Next Saturday will feature a Regular Five Division Program with Super Lates, Street/Pro Stocks, Semi Lates, Pure Stocks, and Four Cylinders on the card. Also, the Young Guns Junior Sprints will be joining us for the first time this year. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing beginning at 7 p.m. For more information call the track office at 814-653-8400 or visit the tracks' website at

At Tri City Raceway Park on Sunday night, Brandon Spithaler captured the feature win in the 410 Sprint division over the 28 car field. Tim Shafer finished second ahead of Jack Sodeman, Jr., Lee Jacobs and Dan Kuriger. Local drivers Jacob Gamola finished in eleventh place and Clarion's Michael Bauer did not start the feature.

The 358 Modified feature found Tiona's Tom Holden in victory lane for the first time this season. The twenty lap event found last week's winner, Kyle Fink drop out on lap five with mechanical issues. Finishing second behind Holden was Eric Beggs. Third place went to Travis Shingledecker followed by long time driver, Kevin Green and rounding out the five was Jeff Schaffer, Jr. Rich Whitney of Corsica finished sixth.

In the Pro Stock feature, Rod Laskey captured the checkers in the 15-lap event over Curtis J. Bish. Jackson Humanic finished a solid third ahead of Curt Bish and last week's winner Josh Seippel.

The final event of the evening featured the four cylinders and capturing the win in that race was Dillion Speer. Dalton Speer rode home second ahead of Patrick Hanlon, Emily Stoyer and Justin Bailey.

Coming up this Sunday night at Tri City Raceway Park in Franklin for Father's Day the 410 Sprints will be in action along with the 358 Modifieds, Pro Stocks and 4 Cylinders. The Vintage Modifieds will also be on hand as well. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing at 6 p.m.

The BRP Modified Tour ventured to Bedford Speedway for the first time ever and twenty-two cars were on hand. Jim Rasey and Chris Rudolph led the field to the drop of the green flag, but a caution for Brad Rapp brought the field back together for the second start. Once the race went green, Jim Rasey took the lead and led through the first seventeen laps before the leaders came upon lapped traffic. Second place Garrett Krummert used that lapped traffic to take the lead away from Rasey. On lap eighteen, Rex King, Jr. hit the wall in turn four and suffered a flat tire, but the crew was able to get it changed and he returned to the speedway.

Krummert led the rest of the 35 laps and went on to capture the feature win by almost a half track lead over second place finisher Jim Rasey. Rex King, Sr. finished third with Chad Brachmann fourth and Rick Regalski fifth. Jeremiah Shingledecker destroyed his original car in hot laps when something on the car broke sending him hard into the fourth turn wall. He brought out his backup car and finished sixth ahead of Rex King, Jr., Dave Murdick, Paul Kot and Chris Rudolph. Brad Rapp finished fourteenth.

At this time, the BRP Modified Tour will be headed to Tyler County Speedway in West Virginia on July Fourth for their next event.

Have a great week, enjoy yourself and celebrate Father's Day with your dad.