Blazevich wins Bobik Memorial race at Thunder Mountain

By Pam Baker

CLARION NEWS Racing correspondent

Holy cow, it is August already and in three weeks school will be starting. Where did the summer go? Before I get started on race results, I would like to wish my husband, Lon a very happy anniversary. We are working on 38 years. Where has that time gone?

On Friday night, the drivers were on hand at Lernerville Speedway when the rains fell cancelling their program. Coming up this week will be a regular Fab 4 show featuring the 410 Sprints, Late Models, Big Block Modifieds and Pro Stocks. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

However, on Friday night Thunder Mountain Speedway in Brookville held the Connor Bobik Memorial race for Late Models. Connor was a young race fan whose life was cut short and they honored him with this race and a Chinese Auction that raised $10,556 for the Make A Wish foundation. Russ King and Dave Blazavich made up the front row for the ULMS Late Model show. King would take the early lead and led the entire distance to pick up the $3,000 prize money. Finishing second was Dan Angelicchio followed by Dave Blazavich, Max Blair and Mike Wonderling.

In the Super V6 Mini Late Model feature Levi Spinneweber picked up his first feature win at Thunder Mountain. Mike Spinneweber finished second with Greg Beach third. Fourth place went to Frank McFeathers with Curtis Stivason fifth.

In the Pure Stock feature Dennis Harrison, Jr. and Greg Blystone battled for the top position before Justin Watt took over the lead and went on to win. Finishing second was Blystone followed by Harrison, Jr., Rich Anderson and Tyler Blystone.

It was all Joe Martin in the Semi Late Model feature as he picked up the win. Finishing second was Jeff Sweeney with Jon Lee third. Fourth place went to Nick Fulmer with Doug Surra fifth.

Jeff Huber picked up yet another feature win in the 4-Cylinder division. Finishing second behind Huber was Rob Williams, Joe Huber, Curtis Mohney and Matt Bryant.

The final feature of the night featured the Street Stocks and Andrew Gordon took home the top prize money. Finishing second was Rusty Martz followed by Zach Gustafson, Fuzzy Fields and Bob Roseman.

Coming up this Friday night at Thunder Mountain Speedway will be Apraxia Awareness Night featuring the Penn Ohio Series Stock Cars in the running of the Scott Winslow Memorial race paying $1,500 to win. Along with that will be the Super Late Models, Semi Lates, Pure Stocks and FWD's. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

On Saturday night at Sharon Speedway Chad Kenemah became the fifth different winner in six 410 Sprint races held at the track this season. Kenemah had an impressive victory after getting by Dan McCarron on lap nine and then had to fend off the challenges of Carl Bowser without brakes to get the win and the $3,000 prize money. Finishing second was Bowser over Jack Sodeman, Jr., Dale Blaney and Dan McCarron. Michael Bauer of Clarion finished twelfth.

Garrett Krummert captured the win in the RUSH Sportsman Modified feature after getting by Chas Wolbert on lap seven and held off Wolbert and Jim Rasey the rest of the race. Finishing second was Wolbert with Rasey third. Fourth went to Kole Holden with Connor King fifth.

On Saturday night, Dustin DeMattia picked up his first Sharon win of the season in the Econo Mod feature. Jacob Eucker finished second with Mitchel Lam third. Fourth place went to Josh Mueller with Jason Fosnaught fifth.

Curtis J. Bish collected the checkers in the Stock Car feature. Noah Brunell finished second ahead of Bobby Whitling, Shaun Hooks and Chris McGuire.

Coming up on Saturday night at Sharon will be the 410 Sprints along with the RUSH Sportsman Modifieds, Stock Cars, and Econo Mods. Racing starts at 7 p.m.

Also on Saturday night at Michaels Mercer Raceway, Dave Murdick picked up the Big Block Modified feature win. Murdick started on the pole and set the pace for the race and despite several caution flag periods was able to hold off the charges of Ryan Watt to get the win. Watt was second ahead of Rex King, Sr., Phil Vigneri, III and Rex King, Jr. Kyle Fink finished eighth. Brad Rapp did not finish the race and Richard Whitney was not able to start the race.

Erik Martin went unchallenged in the FASTRAK Limited Modified feature and collected his second win of the season. Finishing second was Kyle Fink of Strattanville who was subbing for Jim Bryce. Brian Shaffer finished third with Steve Slater fourth and Brian Sadler rounding out the top five.

Jacob Gomola led the 12-car field the entire distance and went on to get the win. Kyle Colwell who won last week, had to start 10th because of the win, and finished a solid second. Randy Sterling finished third with Bob Garvey, Jr fourth. Rounding out the top five was Andy Cavanaugh.

Cole Petrelle picked up his first ever Mercer win in the Mod Lite feature. Vivian Jones finished second ahead of Jeff Davis, Bob Boano and David Innes.

Nine-time winner Shane Shook took off from the start and essentially ran away with the race picking up the win. Dwayne Reddinger rode home second with Phil King third. Joe Romanko finished fourth with Johnny Bruce, Sr. fifth.

The Junior Sprints made another appearance at Mercer and Sam Darby made a move coming off turn four to pick up the win. Second went to Evan Darby with Tyler Allison third. Rounding out the top five were Jaren Dye and Randy White.

Coming up Saturday night the Patriot 360 Sprint Cars make their return to Mercer for $2,000 to win. Also the Big Block Modifieds, FASTRAK Limited Modifeds, Mod Lites, and the Mini Stocks. Racing starts at 7 p.m.

To some of you who might remember Scott Gurdak who drove Big Block Modified for Butch Rapp, Walter Ongley and his brother, Stacie, he picked up a feature win at Stateline Speedway on Saturday night in the Crate Late Model division.

Also over the past weekend, AJ Flick who runs at Lernerville on Friday nights and Port Royal on Saturday nights picked up the win during the Living Legends Dream Race on Saturday night at Port Royal and collected $12,000 to win. Congratulations to both of these drivers.